top of page

Tokyo Rainbow Pride 2017 review

Tokyo Rainbow Pride Festival 2017 was held on 5/6, 5/7 at Yoyogi Park. The whole Shibuya, where Yoyogi Park located, was involved. We went to the event on 5/7 so we could also join the parade. The booths there were not only run by LGBT-supporting NPOs, NGOs and companies but also by artists like Mika Nakajima and government organizations such as The Embassy of Canada and British Embassy Tokyo. We also saw booths of LGBT circles from Tokyo University and Waseda University, however, us Keio wasn’t there. Therefore, we are thinking to participate in next LGBT event. In addition to the booths, there were stage performances as well. The orchestra was playing Silent Majority, the song which implied the message of being yourself, by Keyakizaka 46 when we passed by the stage. According to the timetable, Mika Nakajima, Otokonoko (male girl, transgender idol group), Nichome No Sakigake Comingout (gay idol group from Shinjuku nichiome) were also performing on those two days. As for the parade, lines of people leaded by each different LGBT-supporting organizations walking down the streets while calling their slogan and waving the rainbow flags.

One of the most meaningful things I found about the event was the petition of legalizing same-sex marriage in Japan. Tokyo Rainbow Pride provide a perfect for same-sex marriage legalization petition because the event has gathered bunch of people who support LGBT, and, of course, they were all willing to sign the petition. Having a petition there would be easier and more efficient than making people sign it by the sidewalk on normal days.   東京レインボープライド2017は五月六日、五月七日に渋谷にある代々木公園で開催されました。私たちはパレードのある七日に行きました。このイベントにはLGBTをサポートするNGO、NPO、大手会社がやっているブースだけではなく、アーティスト、例えば中島美嘉さんのブースがあり、カナダ大使館や駐日英国大使館など政府機構のブースもありました。さらに、東京大学と早稲田大学のLGBTサークルのブースも見かけましたが、残念ながら、私たち慶應義塾大学は参加していませんでした。そのため、私たちは次のLGBTイベントに参加しようと考えています。ブースの他にはステージパホーマンスがありました。ステージに通りかかった時、ちょうどオーケストラが自分らしく生きると提唱した欅坂46のサイレントマジョリティーを演奏していました。公式のタイムテーブルによるとこの二日間中島美嘉、トランスジェンダーグループ男の娘やゲイアイドル二丁目の魁カミングアウトなどのアーティストがパフォーマンスをしていました。そして、各々の組織が率いた列はレインボー旗を持ってスローガンを唱いながら渋谷の街に歩き回りました。

  今回のイベントで一番有意義だと思ったことは同性婚合法化の署名活動でした。東京レインボープライドは同性婚合法化の署名活動にとってパーフェクトなイベントだと思います。なぜなら、レインボープライドはたくさんのLGBT支持者を集まっていたからです。LGBT反対者はそもそもこのイベントに来ないし、支持者もみんな喜んで署名してくれるので普段街中で聞くより効率的に署名を集められます。


bottom of page