top of page

GP research proposal and Project Plans 2017-2018 Semester

For my GP I will be researching on queer social community within Japan, specifically Tokyo and hopefully I can reach to other prefectures. Throughout the semester I tried my best to participate in a lot of LGBT events and talked to many people that have been living in Japan for over 10 years or more, and everyone is still struggle with the society issues. I talked to one of the members that started the first Pride Parade in Yoyogi, he gave me a lot to think about why the community will end up like what we have been experiencing not just within LGBT community but also straight Japanese. So my research topic might expand a little bit towards social science and not just within LGBT community.

In the LGBT society, there are still too many things that are not defined and because of all the hate and discriminations leading the society do not know how to respond to this fresh born group. My future research will also include the definition of LGBTq.

My GP 1 is going to be a documentary about LGBT individuals that are out in Japan; I will interview and record them about how they have been treated, which will be around age above 28. From my own research most people in Japan tends to come out either after their college graduation or around when they are 30, this phenomenon will be another research that I will conduct maybe in another project or just a simple research comparing to other countries. I have already heard about a small part of someone's story that he has experience bullying and isolation in his high school, and this happened 20 years ago. I will also interview people who choose not to come out, and this group of people will be majorly the age below 26. My plan is to collect as much story as possible and publish it either as a youtube channel and produce it with multiple episode or a documentary around 1 to 2 hours and send it to the film festival of documentary.


bottom of page